Pina Colada for me please.


Piña Colada from @roysroy SF restaurant. cc: @...

Image by christinelu.china via Flickr

I love a good alcoholic beverage. My moms favorite drink is Pina Colada. This is the kind of drink you have on a hot day and you go into your backyard or on front porch and have a seat. Relax your body while you sip and let your mind wander away to a tropical island.

I have this book called The Complete Bartender. It’s a book that has recipes to just about every drink you can think of. I love to look in this book before visitors come over and see what I can put together. This book has everything to; stocking your bar, barware and glassware, measuring, garnishes, party planning, frozen drinks, low-calorie drinks, beer, wine, etc. It’s the guide of all guides.

The book is also categorized a-z and by the alcohol you would like to use. So either way you will find what your looking for.

New and exciting drinks are my thing. When I go out I often will try something new. I went out about 3 weeks ago and had a drink called Cris Piss. I know that doesn’t sound appealing. I asked the lady what it had in it and she said “a bit of everything”. When I lady walked up beside me to order some drinks from the bar, she asked what I was having, so I told her. She shrugged her face and said “no thank you”. But it was alright. It’s good to try new things.

So here is the recipe for Pina Colada if you didn’t know.

1 1/2 oz. light rum

1 oz. cream of coconut ( Coco Real cream of coconut)

2 oz. canned pineapple chunks

2 oz. pineapple juice splash of cream

1. In a blender, combine light rum, cream of coconut, canned pineapple chunks, cream and 3 oz. crushed ice

2. Blend at medium speed for 10-15 seconds, or until smooth

3. Pour into a goblet or a large wine glass

4. Garnish with a cherry and an orange slice or a pineapple spear

2 Comments

Filed under Cooking and me, Recipes

2 responses to “Pina Colada for me please.

  1. I could use one of these. It’s practically tropical here!

Leave a Reply

